Join us on the ride to a cleaner, greener, and smarter future. Together, we can make every commute count!

Proudly spearheaded by the Central York Chamber of Commerce, Smart Commute Central York (SCCY) works to change the way we think about our daily journeys. Our mission stretches across Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, Newmarket, Whitchurch-Stouffville, and the Township of King.

At SCCY, we’re not just reducing traffic congestion; we’re sparking a movement for climate action, transforming workplaces and school zones into hubs of sustainability. With an arsenal of services, tools, and campaigns, we’re championing the shift towards active and sustainable travel choices.

The Smart Commute Tool

Our tool – accessible via our website or downloadable on the App Store and Google Play Store – allows users to explore commuting options, plan trips, create and join carpools, measure greenhouse gas emissions and money saved, join incentivized campaigns, and more. It is a powerful tool for companies and individuals alike who want to make their carbon footprint lighter.

Our Work

Smart Commute offers employers:

  • Funded Emergency Ride Home program
  • Best Workplace for Commuters assistance
  • Incentivized employee campaigns
  • Personalized travel plans
  • Monitoring of company environmental impact
  • TDM resources – carpool parking management systems, workplace surveys, site assessments, workshops

Smart Commute Central York works with the northern 6 municipalities of York Region to encourage active and sustainable travel. Our primary community initiatives include:

  • Bike Day
  • Incentivized campaigns including Smart Commute Month, Bike Month, and Winter Commute Month

Smart Commute Central York began an Active School Travel Program pilot in Newmarket in partnership with the Town of Newmarket, York Region, YRDSB, and YCDSB. The pilot ran from September 2021 to July 2023 and schools from the pilot are currently in a legacy program. The pilot included visible infrastructural components in school zones and educational programming for the school community.

6 schools were selected to take part in the Newmarket AST pilot program:

  • Stonehaven Elementary School (875 Stonehaven Avenue)
  • Notre Dame Catholic Elementary School (715 Kingsmere Avenue)
  • St. Elizabeth Seaton Catholic Elementary School (960 Leslie Valley Drive)
  • Alexander Muir Public School (75 Ford Wilson Boulevard)
  • Prince Charles Public School (684 Srigley Street)
  • Maple Leaf Public School (155 Longford Drive)

The Town of Newmarket, York Region, and YRDSB are monitoring the program with plans of expanding to other school zones and municipalities in the future.